Cheer

A few years ago I noticed my eldest son’s fascination with juggling things which he seemed to do quite easily. Although I do recall his juggling years previously he didn’t appear to be dedicated to the art so I gave the matter no further thought.

As usual Christmas was donning on us and I asked the typical, “What do you want for Christmas?” my son immediately responded, “A Contact Juggling ball”.

Okay, interesting, “And uh what,” thought I, “is a Contact Juggling ball?” he must have read my mind…grinning the biggest grin my son could muster he chuckled and said, “Let me show you.” We headed into the office and there with the use of the world wide web he pulled up a picture on the computer and showed me what a Contact Juggling ball looks like. Accessing another popular web site I soon saw a video depicting the use of this clear acrylic sphere and knew my son had more than a mild fascination with juggling.

I couldn’t help but encourage his interest and for Christmas I invested in his first Contact Juggling ball. In my son’s hands this clear ball became lively and fun. The use of the ball entices the viewer to smile, giggle and desire to unravel the mystery of the ball. My son worked on various moves, choreographed the use and one can now find him on a popular video website for researchers to view.
As a parent I have become aware that life is a transition which catches up to our children in adulthood. It is in this place of transition in which my active role as ‘navigator’ in my child’s life becomes grossly removed for the most part. Gracefully or no, I must bow out and allow my child to master the role of ‘navigator’ in their own life.

I see for myself the sacrifices my son is willing to make to do something peculiar with his life. There will be no technical college in the near future, no engineering degree. He will not serve in the military as his grandfather did nor pursue a career in law, politics or medicine.

He has chosen a different route, one in which clowning about is acceptable and fulfilling and endearing. In all the choices available to my son his choice is to bring cheer, to give cheer to be cheer. 

Recently while shopping,  I found a wall plaque which read “Don’t dream your life, Live your dreams” a peace which surpasses all human understanding flowed into my very bones and I knew without a shadow of a doubt that all will be well with my son on his journey.

I encourage you all to follow your dreams, plan for them, expect them to be fulfilled and they will be…
by Susan Louise Davis

Leave a Reply

