A Daunting Task

According to the teachings of my faith I am to compare myself to no other human.
Any comparison’s I make are ONLY to the perfect living example of Jesus Christ.

It can be a daunting task to read of his life experiences and see how he turned from those same
temptations I face and have faced.

Today I am reminded of where I was as a young woman of nineteen years old comparing to who I am as a
fifty something senior (yeah, middle age for me was in my thirties and I completely missed them).
Reaping what I had sown when younger, as a senior I am just coming out of the results of those choices.

Born into the world I have only worldly examples to lean on and for the most part imparted that initial
upbringing from my childhood to my children as I reared them in the only way I knew how.
While studying on the life of Christ I found fault with some of the teachings passed down to me from
my parents and chose not to repeat unfortunately, my studies of the life of Christ was sporadic and
did not intensify until latter years when the kids have moved on and are cultivating their own
families and traditions.

I have worn the scarlet letter and my history has been shared with all sorts of accusation,
sideway glances, rejection and abandonment from loved ones who saw and judged harshly and
believed me unworthy. And learned to see myself through their eyes.

One broken down relationship after another I have been made alone.
The opportunity to heal has begun and those old tapes, those old negative words and glances
no longer haunt as I move further and further away from the memories of a life which had once
held me captive.

I am no longer there frozen in time by the pain of the past. Each day bringing new experiences and
opportunity to walk the walk. To see the world around me with a set of new eyes allowing my soul
the opportunity to reside within me in harmony. Today I judge myself according to the teachings of
Christ and not in comparison to any human.

Humans fall short, they always will but as a human I have a choice in the matter and today I practice the
principals of love. Alexander Pope had it right when he shared, “To err is human, to forgive divine”
which rings true in my life today because it is a divine walk I seek and
I can only get there because I forgive.

My mail is read and you now know the truth if you didn’t before which is simple, I am human and I err.

Friends, today I want to encourage you to compare yourself to NO ONE but to practice a lifestyle which
benefits the whole. Invest yourself in ways which will positively affect every situation.
If you must find fault find it in yourself and correct it.
Your journey is your own and if you do not take inventory of where you are at compared to where you
have been you will not get where you desire to go because your wheels spin…

Much love

Leave a Reply

